Blog Tour: 20* Questions With Alex Wayfare

the-57-lives-of-alex-wayfare-banner

(* Okay, 22 – so sue me. 20 sounds snappier.)

The57LivesOfAlexWayfare-144dpiAs part of the blog tour for The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare, by MG Buehrlen, I asked Alex Wayfare herself a few questions to better get to know the girl behind the glasses. Check out what Alex thinks of aliens, who would play her in a movie and what’s the hottest car in the world. If you’re still wondering why you should read The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare after reading my gushing review, hopefully this interview will convince you that Alex rocks. So come on, Wayfare: talk nerdy to me.

 


 

1. What’s scarier, ghosts or aliens?
Hm. Aliens, I guess. I’ve spent the last few months walking through the past, chatting with people who are long dead, so the idea of meeting a ghost isn’t that scary to me anymore.

2. If you went to Hogwarts, which house would you be in?
Ravenclaw, definitely. They are eccentric and smart, so I think I’d fit in well. Better than my current school, that’s for sure.

3. Favourite item of clothing?
My army green parka. It’s big and comfy and I can flip the collar up and hide behind it. I’m kind of invisible when I wear it, and I love that.

4. How often do you clean your glasses?
Not all that often, unless I’m working on a tech project. I can’t stand to have them smudged when I need to focus on circuits and wires.

awimqp5. In the movie of your life, who plays you? Who plays Blue?
I haven’t seen any modern films, so forgive me if I suggest old school actors. Our film would be a black and white classic, starring Bacall and Bogart. Those two had sizzle (just look at this poster I have hanging on my wall), and Lauren always had the perfect amount of sass.

6. What’s the time period you most want to visit?
I want to visit them all! But seriously, I really want to visit Roanoke and discover why the colony disappeared. Mr Lipscomb would eat his hat.

7. Favourite song ever?
Stardust by Hoagy Carmichael

8. What song would you torture your nemesis with by putting on repeat forever?
The entire soundtrack from the teen musical my sister Claire won’t stop watching. She’s tortured me with it for over a year now. It works.

9. Favourite colour?
Navy blue, I think. I haven’t really thought about a favorite color, but I wear navy blue a lot, so…

10. Your worst Halloween costume?
All of my costumes have been pretty amazing, actually. Although one time Claire wanted Audrey and I to go with her as Disney princesses, and that would’ve been mortifying, but we got out of it, thank God.

11. Which fictional character is the complete opposite to you?
I don’t read a lot of fiction unless I have to for school, but I guess I’d say Daisy from The Great Gatsby. I couldn’t relate to her at all.

12. Best desert ever?
The cannoli at Ristorante Cafferelli. Porter’s right, they do have the best.

13. What’s your patronus?
A cat. I think that would be pretty poetic, don’t you?

car4awi114. What’s the hottest car in the world? car4awi1
The 1963 Corvette Sting Ray (although my dad’s Mustang comes in a close second). Here’s an ad for one I tore out of an old magazine and hung on my wall. If you have time to read the ad copy, I highly recommend it. It’s awesome.

 

 

15. If you could dress in only one period of dress for the rest of ever, what would it be? Why?
Having experienced corsets first-hand, and the gross polyester of the 60s, I’d have to say Base Life clothes are the absolute best. It’s one of the things I look forward to most when I return home after my missions — finally being comfortable again. But, I must say, the dress Blue’s mom gave me in 1927 was the eel’s hips.

16. You’re going to rob a bank: who do you want as your getaway?
Porter. How many times has he gotten me out of scrapes? I can’t imagine pulling off any missions without him on my team (just don’t tell him I said that).

17. The object to your left is your weapon for the zombie apocalypse: what are your chances?
Hm. My soldering iron. Well, I could always burn the zombie’s eyes out,

18. Who should do the voiceover for your life’s highlights?grace-kelly-thumbnail
Please let it be Grace Kelly. Is there any other voice more perfect?

19. To how many digits do you know Pi?
You ready for this? Let’s see… 3.14159265358979323…8… 4? Dang. I used to have more memorized.

20. What’s cooler: kung fu ninja or kick-ass sniper?
Ninja, definitely. They fight face-to-face, not behind backs.

21. You’re in Cluedo game: it was Alex, where, with what?
Ha! I like this question. Mind if I make up my own room and weapon? Alex, in the garage, with the socket wrench.

22. Which historical mystery would you most like to go back and solve?
Oh, like I said, Roanoke, definitely. To see the look on Mr Lipscomb’s face… Priceless.

 


I’m pretty sure by now that you’re gonna totally dig Alex and all her 57 lives – so, there’s no need to wait! The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is already out and ready to wow you. Fall in love with Alex and Blue and get tangled up in all the mystery, intrigue and excitement of having 57 lives and the power to revisit all of them!

mgbWhen she’s not writing, M.G. moonlights as a web designer and social media/creative director. She’s the current web ninja lurking behind the hugely popular website YABooksCentral.com, a social network for YA (and kids!) book lovers. The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is her debut novel. M.G. lives nestled away in Michigan pines, surrounded by good coffee and good books, with her husband and son and three furbabies. Say hello on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

