New Wheelchair and Attempting #Blaugust

2016-06-19 20.09.11What better than a little incentive to start a) blogging more regularly and b) training myself out of thinking that each blog post I write needs to be five million words long and eligible for the Man Booker Prize?

Mostly I’ll just be blogging/reviewing as per usual, but I’m trying to get into the habit of more frequent posting about me and my life in general, relating to books, writing and disability. (Of course it remains to be seen if I’ll actually manage it,  but there we have it!)

But let’s start off with good news: I got my new wheelchair! After the very generous donations given through my GoFundMe whatsit, I got the pennies to buy myself a brand new wheelchair that is lighter, stronger (and therefore smoother and less wobbly) and comes with all-terrain mountain bike style wheels that promise to make parks and hills and all manner of previously-awkward terrain accessible again. I’ve only had the chance to use it a few times so far, but it’s so very different and immeasurably more comfortable than my old one. It’s light and feels less restrictive to sit in, which is definitely a bonus. It feels like there’s more me and less wheelchair, which is something I didn’t even know could be a thing.

I’m excited to take it with me to Nine Worlds Geek Fest next week (oh, gods, I’m not even close to being ready) and feel that if I am up to adventuring around London a little, I won’t need to worry about the terrain and bumpiness of unfamiliar and/or uneven streets.

I am incredibly grateful to anyone who donated, beyond words, in fact, since it’s always the worry that you’re asking for too much, isn’t it? Well, here I am with my new wheels and they’ve already started to make a noted difference to how my pain is managed when I’m sitting in it outside. I have high hopes for long durations spent in the ‘chair at Nine Worlds, where I’ll be in it far, far more than I usually am.

So, thank you again to anyone who donated or shared the GoFundMe link–you have my eternal gratitude and the promise that, should I ever actually regain my throne as the long-lost prince of the faerie kingdoms, I’ll send my house-cleaning legions of brownies your way.

And as for Blaugust? I’ve been meaning to blog more, so this seems a pretty good incentive to kick that frequency up a notch. The goal is to post more specifically about life in Leoland and navigating chronic illness and disability whilst also being an anxious creative who really, really sucks at one thing all spoonies need: rest!

Leave a Reply

